Good Notes

GoodnotesiconToday’s app is Good Notes, available for the iOS. This is a PDF markup type app. In order to broaden my horizon, I’ve tried others, but find myself always drifting back to Good Notes. It just simply gives me what I need.

I have to credit my niece, who is also a teacher, for showing me this app. One afternoon she was curled up on our couch after a holiday meal, totally absorbed in her iPad. I’d asked her what she was so involved in, she showed me she was grading papers. Teaching 9th grade English at the time, her students would digitally submit their writing assignments to her. She, in turn, would import the assignments into this app, where she could mark up mistakes, add positive comments, and a myriad of other things.

There is a free version, then the paid version. It’s worth every penny asked. Around state mandated high stakes testing, I downloaded testing manuals from the FSAassessment site, and marked it up, according to the information we received at our faculty meeting. I have always, but ALWAYS wound up losing any sort of paper that gets passed out, so when agendas are passed out, I immediately scan it into my ipad via JotNot pro (another app for another day), then import it into GoodNotes. From there, I can add my own notes and reminders as we go through the meetings.

The thing that I like the most, I think, about the app, is the fact that it allows a “zoomed in text box” feature to write in. Trying to write itty-bitty letters can be somewhat of a daunting task, but with their text box, it makes it a breeze. Simply position the box where you want your notes to appear, and on another part of your screen, the magnification version is available for you to add your notes in. Your notes appear to be the same size as the other font in the document, and you didn’t even have to struggle.

I wholeheartedly recommend the GoodNotes app. Do check it out when you get a chance. You won’t be disappointed!

Leave a comment